So, over the past month or so, I've been on a little quest. Totally unhappy with my "perimenopausal" body, I am determined to get healthy, find some energy, and stop feeling like I am also pre-Alzheimer's. I'm tired of being moody, cranky, fat, tired, and unenergetic. I am far too young for this.
I had my thyroid numbers checked because seriously - something is not right with my body. I am truly miserable. I keep GAINING weight despite increasing my workouts. True, I have not been focused food wise and I know I must combine both - but gaining? Yeah - uh - no.
While awaiting the thyroid results, I am researching. If I was as good at losing weight as I am at researching - I would be so thin, you'd be able to see through me. But, unfortunately, I'm not.
So. I've been watching documentaries, reading websites, checking out new diets. I've looked at the 6-week body makeover, The Dukan Diet (lasted 1/2 a day), Eat-Clean (done before and loved but it costs a lot) and now I'm checking out the new Weight Watchers Program. I'm currently checking out Weight Watchers online for free - 7 day trial thingy. If I have good results, I might apply this one to my life. I like it because I don't feel as restricted as I do with everything else.
Anywho - this is the conclusion I have drawn. I hate dieting. I also hate being overweight. I hate feeling like crap. I hate that there are SOOOOO many opinions (and most of the time - they are opinions and not facts - and the facts are all skewed to match the opinions) out there! One book will tell you to eat carbs, the next, no carbs. Don't eat processed, but please buy our bars. Eat lots of proteins, ignore fruits and veggies. It all sounds like screaming in my head after a while.
Here's the thing. We were not all made alike. Maybe the key is finding what works for YOU. Make The Dukan diet works for someone. Maybe the 6-week works for someone else. Maybe we just all need to do SOMETHING instead of NOTHING. I've been doing a lot of nothing, a lot of spinning in the dark, a lot of research and not a lot of - well - losing.
I'm lacking motivation. Seriously. But I have to do something - 'cause it ain't gonna get any better or change if I do nothing. I think we should all share what works for us. And remember different things work for different people - 'cause I get tired of reading all the reviews and people going off the deep end on each other just because what works for them doesn't work for someone else. There is truly no reason to be so angry people.
Off topic. I hate dieting. What about you?
Valley of Worship - Seph Schlueter
2 days ago
















